Get Involved on a Committee!

The best way to maximize your GRAPE membership is to get involved on a committee. A variety of opportunities are available to share your talents, depending on committee need and your availability. Take a moment to review the following list of current committees and contact the GRAPE office or the committee chair(s) for more information!

Advocacy
  • Recommends priority public policy issues for GRAPE, developing strategies and work plans to move public policy efforts forward.
  • Educates, influences, and attempts to facilitate change in order to improve the quality of life for elderly persons, protect their rights, benefits, and access to quality care.
  • Plans and hosts Annual Legislative Town Hall Breakfast every February.
  • Committee Chair: Meghan Weaver, UR Medicine Geriatrics Group, meghan_weaver@urmc.rochester.edu
  • Committee Meets normally every 1st Wednesday of the month @ 12noon.  Please email Committee Chair above to verify time & location if interested in joining.
Bylaws
  • Reviews current bylaws and recommends changes in them to the Board of Directors.
The ElderPages Directory
  • Updates, compiles, and publishes The ElderPages Directory - a reference and information directory of local resources which assists area professionals to enhance the quality of life for the elderly.
  • Commitee Co-Chairs: Virginia Clark, Catholic Family Services, vclark@cfcrochester.org  & Mollie Traub, NCJW,  mtraub@rochester.rr.com
  • Committee Meets normally every 3rd Tuesday of the month @ 8:30am.  Please email Committee Chair above to verify time & location if interested in joining or learning more.
Budget & Finance
  • Is responsible for recommending fiscal policies, submitting the annual budget to the Board, evaluating financial performance and arranging for an annual audit.
  • Committee Chair: Andrew Hastings, Rochester Regional Health, andrew.hastings@rochesterregional.org
  • Committee Meets normally every 1st Thursday of the month @8:30am. Please email Committee Chair above to verify time & location if interested in joining or learning more.
Marketing
  • Increases visibility and branding of GRAPE, marketing supports membership growth, recruitment & retention. Emphasis on Elder Care fairs and other marketing events to support overall mission.
  • Committee Co-Chairs: Marie Candelora, Companion Care of Rochester, mcandelora@ccorhome.com   and Becky Carrigan, Episcopal Senior Life, rcarrigan@episcopalseniorlife.org
  • Please email Committee Chair above to verify time & location if interested in joining or learning more.
Membership
  • Responsible for creating, coordinating, and conducting membership recruitment, renewal, and retention activities while meeting budget goals for dues.
  • Makes recommendations to the Board regarding membership dues and benefits.
  • Committee Co-Chairs: Kristen Treadway, Home Instead Senior Care, ktreadway@homeinstead.com  and Nancy Hickey, The Woodlands, nhickey@woodlandsatstonebrook.org  
  • Committee meets every 4th Wednesday of the month at 8:30am at Legacy Clover Blossom.  Please contact committee chair listed above to verify time location & location if interested in joining or learning more.
Newsletter
  • Writes, edits, oversees production and readership of the GRAPEvine.
  • Sets and publicizes newsletter deadlines.
  • Ensures compliance with GRAPE editorial policy.
  • Please contact Executive Director, Carol Bartlett at 256-4351 or info@grapelder.org
Program
  • Plans and coordinates programs which enhance the knowledge and skills of GRAPE members, helping them provide quality services to older persons.
  • Committee Chair: Mike Kearney, Senior Care Authority, mkearney@seniorcareauthority.com 
  • Committee Meets normally every 3rd Thursday of the month @ 8:15 am at various locations. Please email Committee Chair above to verify time & location if interested in joining.  
Annual Gala Dinner
  • Plans and coordinates The Annual Gala Dinner.  GRAPE's largest fundraiser.
  • Committee Co- Chairs:  Alison Bearer, Jewish Senior Life, abearer@jewishseniorlife.org & Meghan Little, St. John's, mlittle@stjohnsliving.org  
  • Please email Committee Chair above to verify time & location if interested in joining.

For more information please call 585-256-4351 or e-mail: info@grapelder.org

A big thank you to the following organizations who have committed to GRAPE through sponsorships!

Rochester Regional's Edna Tina Wilson Living Center and Wegman Family Cottages are very generously sponsoring GRAPE at the Vineyard Level

 

Learn more how you can get involved and support GRAPE!